Arizona Bankruptcy Exemption List
Only State Exemptions Allowed
In the state of Arizona you can not use the federal bankruptcy exemptions but must choose the Arizona Bankruptcy exemptions. There may be certain federal supplemental exemptions you can use. All exemptions should be discussed with your Arizona Bankruptcy Attorney.
Arizona has created bankruptcy exemptions to allow you to maintain enough public benefits, wages, personal property and insurance to start over after filing bankruptcy in Arizona. There may be certain residency requirements to use the State of Arizona Bankruptcy Exemption List.
The following table will outline the Arizona Bankruptcy Exemptions. Some of your property or assets may not have a matching exemption.
Up to $150,000.
Husband and wife may not double. May record homestead declaration. §33-1102.
Includes apartments and mobile homes; and sale proceeds up to 18 months after sale, or new home purchased, whichever occurs first.
Fraternal benefit society benefits.
Life insurance proceeds if beneficiary is spouse or child, up to $20,000.
Life insurance proceeds if you have owned it at least two years and the beneficiary is a spouse or child.
Group life insurance policy or proceeds.
Disability, accident or health benefits. Proceeds or cash value of life insurance or annuity contract if the beneficiary is a dependent member of the family and the contract has been owned longer than two years.
||Alimony or child support. Minor child's earnings if debt is not for child
Tax exempt retirement accounts. Traditional and Roth IRAs up to $1,095,000 per person.
Members of board of regents as well as administrative officers and faculty under the board's jurisdiction.
ERISA-qualified benefits, if deposited more than 120 days before filing. IRAs & Roth IRAs.
Retirement and disability of state employees.
11 U.S.C. § 522
(Subject to doubling)
Wrongful death awards.
Proceeds for sold or damaged exempt property; prepaid rent or security deposit to lesser of $1,000 or 1.5 times rent (only if not claiming homestead); bank deposit to $150 in one account.
Funeral deposits up to $5,000.
The following items up to $4,000 total: Two beds; one bed table, dresser and lamp; bedding; kitchen table and 4 chairs; dining table and 4 chairs; living room chair for each family member; couch; 3 living room tables and lamps; living room carpet or rug; refrigerator; stove; washer and dryer; one TV, radio or stereo; alarm clock; vacuum cleaner; family portraits; pictures, paintings, and drawings created by the debtor.
Food and fuel for six months.
Motor vehicle up to $5,000 (or $10,000 if disabled); clothing to $500; pets, horses, milk cows and poultry to $500; books to $250; wedding and engagement rings to $1,000; musical instruments to $250; watch to $100; health aids; and up to $500 total for bicycle, sewing machine, typewriter, burial plot, firearm and bible.
|Tools of the Trade
Teaching aids of a teacher.
Tools, equipment and books up to $2,500; Farm machinery, utensils, instruments of husbandry, feed, seed, grain and animals up to a total value of $2,500; and arms, uniforms and equipment you are required by law to keep. Subject to doubling.
||75% of earned but unpaid net wages or 30 times the federal minimum hourly wage. Judge may allow more for low-income debtors.
For more information call us at 866-210-1722 or fill out the form below.